Robbie Basho: The Seal of the Blue Lotus

Track List

>Seal of the Blue Lotus
>Mountain Man's Farewell
>Dravidian Sunday
>Bardo Blues
>Sansara In Sweetness After Sandstorm
>Black Lotus - Hymn to Fugen

Album Notes

Seal of the Blue Lotus is the 1965 debut from the extraordinary folk guitarist Robbie Basho, who released numerous albums for John Fahey's Takoma label during the '60s. His mystical approach to six- and 12-string guitar improvisation shares many similarities to John Fahey in that Basho, too, was inspired by Eastern modalities -- his six-string melodies recalling the Indian ragas of Ravi Shankar's "Dhun in Musra Mund." "Mountain Man's Farewell" is an outstanding piece that displays the early seeds of a revolutionary guitar style that Basho, along with John Fahey and Sandy Bull, redefined American folk music. An essential document for folk guitar fans. ~ Skip Jansen


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review