1 800 222 6872

Earl Hines: Swingin' Down

Track List

>Deep Forest
>Oh You Sweet Things
>Blue Drag
>I Love You Because I Love You
>I Love You Because I Love You
>Sensational Mood
>My One Ambition Is You
>Why Must We Part?
>Maybe I'm To Blame
>Take It Easy
>Harlem Lament
>Bubbling Over
>I Want a Lot of Love
>Just To Be In Caroline
>We Found Romance
>You're the One of My Dreams
>Swingin' Down

Album Notes

Personnel: Earl Hines (piano).

Audio Remasterer: John R.T. Davies.

Liner Note Author: Frank Driggs.

Recording information: Chicago (06/28/1932-03/27/1934); New York City (06/28/1932-03/27/1934); Chicago (07/01/1932-03/27/1933); New York City (07/01/1932-03/27/1933); Chicago (10/27/1933); New York City (10/27/1933).

This LP and Hep 1003 contain the entire recorded output of Earl Hines's big band of 1932-33 (including all of the alternate takes), an underrated orchestra. At the time Hines's featured soloists were trumpeter/singer Walter Fuller, trombonist Trummy Young, and the reeds of Darnell Howard, Omer Simeon and Cecil Irwin, in addition to the brilliant pianist/leader. The fine arrangements (particularly Jimmy Mundy's) show off this band's power. "Blue Drag," "Rosetta," "Cavernism," "Madhouse" and "Swingin' Down" are among the best performances. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product