1 800 222 6872

Monteverdi: Il Ritorno D'Ulisse in Patria

Notes & Reviews:

These three groundbreaking recordings of Monteverdi operas made by Rene Jacobs and Concerto Vocale are now available as deluxe, mid-priced book-format sets as part of harmonia mundi's new 'Monteverdi Opera Edition.' Released between 1990 and 1995, these recordings set a new standard for performance of these works. Some of the star performers featured include Jennifer Larmore, Bernarda Fink, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson and Andreas Scholl.

"On this welcome re-release conductor Rene Jacobs presents us with a cut-for-performance version of this, Monteverdi's least overtly accessible opera... Our loving couple couldn't be more superbly cast. Mezzo Bernarda Fink's Penelope is epic in her steadfastness--so epic, in fact, that she reaches near-tragic proportions and her desolation is tangible enough to be upsetting. Her voice is richly colored as well, and she's about as good in the role as we'd ever expect to hear... Lorraine Hunt, Michael Schopper, and a gaggle of other early music specialists round out the cast in colorful, pointed characterizations. The pacing and playing of the Concerto Vocale are ideal, and the decade-old sound is still both bright and rich. This is the Ulisse to own if you want to be moved by this great work. Jacobs and Monteverdi--a great team!" -Classics Today

BBC Music Magazine
It's Jacobs's comparative restraint that's powerfully dramatic, and in terms of the strength, depth and range of the casting, he has few equals...Prégardien is an impressive Ulysses to Bernarda Fink's powerful Penelope


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased