1 800 222 6872


Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Verklarte Nacht for String Sextet, Op. 4
>Glass, Philip : Sextet for strings

Notes & Reviews:

Orange Mountain Music presents the debut recording by the newly-formed Glass Chamber Players - a group of virtuoso soloists including artistic director and cellist Wendy Sutter, violinists Tim Fain and Maria Bachmann, violists Misha Amory and David Harding and cellist Alexis Pia Gerlach. The disc features Schoenberg's 1899 masterpiece 'Verklarte Nacht' (Transfigured Night) for string sextet, paired with Philip Glass' four-movement 'Symphony No.3' transcribed for string sextet. This is the first of a series of recordings pairing Philip Glass' music with masterpieces of the classical repertoire.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Baryshnikov Arts Center, New York (12/2009).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Verklärte Nacht for String Sextet, Op. 4
  • Running Time: 30 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1899

>Glass, Philip : Sextet for strings
  • Running Time: 4 min. 40 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 2009