1 800 222 6872

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos

Album Summary

>Strauss, Richard : Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, Op. 60
>Strauss, Richard : Ariadne auf Naxos, Op. 60
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Appearances in opera, concert, and recital by the Grammy Award winning American soprano Christine Brewer are marked by her unique timbre, at once warm and brilliant, combined with a vibrant personality and emotional honesty reminiscent of the great sopranos of the past. Her range, golden tone, boundless power, and control make her a favourite of the stage as well as a sought-after recording artist.

"The dialogue crackles and there's a palpable sense of drama, notably when Alice Coote, a Composer of poise and ardour, is centre-stage...The recording's value lies in preserving Christine Brewer's Ariadne - warm, majestic and humane, rising to radiant heights in the finale with Robert Dean Smith's Bacchus." -Financial Times

"Richard Strauss in English? Yes, when the cast is as smart and committed as this...Hofmannsthal's fine but word-rich libretto is clear and audible in Christopher Cowell's translation...Sir Richard Armstrong conducts a voluptuous but brisk performance, with sinewy playing from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra" -The Observer

"Few singers can beat [Brewer] for matching a full vocal bloom to vivid dramatic gifts. Close your eyes and you easily see both her characters. The Prologue's backstage artisans squabble vigorously, with Alice Coote in ringing good form as the tormented composer...Delightful, tuneful and always understandable, this set represents another victory for Chandos's Opera in English series." -The Times

"Christine Brewer's Ariadne boasts a gleaming, sumptuous dramatic soprano, capable of vulnerability and tenderness. Zerbinetta's stratospheric writing and coloratura hold no terrors for Gillian Keith, while Alice Coote's Composer ranks with the best on disc. Indeed, the cast has no weak links, and Richard Armstrong and the SCO set the seal on the recording's success." -Sunday Times

"...it could hardly be sung with more spirit or fun. Stephen Fry is delightful in the short spoken role of the Major Domo...Brewer makes a glorious Ariadne and tenor Robert Dean Smith impresses with his unforced, shining account of the cruelly demanding role of Bacchus." -Classic FM Magazine ****

"the real vocal honours belong to Alice Coote's exquisitely troubled Composer and Gillian Keith's vulnerable Zerbinetta - while Robert Dean Smith is a fine Bacchus. The real hero, though, is conductor Richard Armstrong, whose understanding of the work's tricky dividing line between irony and genuine emotion is outstanding." -The Guardian ****

"Brewer's luscious Ariadne had to be captured on disc...There's another essential performance from Alice Coote...with unflinchingly full top notes that few other genuine mezzos possess...I've never heard a more responsive trio of nymphs or a better male quartet" -BBC Music Magazine *****

"The standard here is remarkably and consistently high...it is a treat to hear the young and (as yet) by no means starry Zerbinetta bringing an almost nonchalant assurance to the technical difficulties...The Prologue is enriched by Stephen Fry's Major-Domo, imperturbable beyond the raising of a supercilious eyebrow." -Gramophone Magazine

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Trident Audio Post, London (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-); Usher Hall, Edinburgh (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Strauss, Richard : Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, Op. 60
  • Performers: David Watkin (Cello); Bradley Creswick (Violin); Catriona Beveridge (Piano)
  • Conductor: Richard Armstrong
  • Notes: Usher Hall, Edinburgh (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-); Trident Audio Post, London (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-)
  • Running Time: 34 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1920

>Strauss, Richard : Ariadne auf Naxos, Op. 60
  • Performers: Bradley Creswick (Violin); Catriona Beveridge (Piano)
  • Conductor: Richard Armstrong
  • Notes: Usher Hall, Edinburgh (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-); Trident Audio Post, London (2010-01-17_2010-01-28&2010-)
  • Running Time: 2 min. 23 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1916