1 800 222 6872

Musto, Bolcom: Two New Comic Operas

Audio Samples

  1. Bastianello: I. Aria: “Up Here...” $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Bastianello: III. Trio: “Life, Life...So Sad, So Sad...” $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Bastianello: IV. Aria: “Wasted Wine”, Duet: “I Am Putting On My Pants” $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Bastianello: V. Quartet: “Behold This Maiden Blushing”, Aria “As Is the Custom of This Town” $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Bastianello: VI. Aria: “The Sun Soon Set”, Aria: “Every Month: I Can Find Here Here” $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Bastianello: VII. Arietta: “So He Returned That Very Night” $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Bastianello: VIII. Quartet: “A Toast … to Love” $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Lucrezia: I. Introduction $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Lucrezia: II. “ Friend: I Came As Quickly As I Could” $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Lucrezia: III. Duet: “I Do Not Know Her Name” $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Lucrezia: IV. Duet: “Okay I Think I Have a Plan” $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Lucrezia: V. “Now Go!” $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Lucrezia: VI. Aria: “An Admirer” $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Lucrezia: VII. “Friend, This Man Was Brought to Us By God”, Duet: “A Son” $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Lucrezia: VIII. “Ah, Look the Miracle Is Here” $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Lucrezia: Ix. “Has the World Produced a Bigger Ass?” $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Lucrezia: X. “Señora, Congratulations” $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Lucrezia: XI. “Not Yet, But in a While” $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Lucrezia: XII. Duet: “We Women” $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Lucrezia: XIII. “Come Let Us Approach”, “Peace Be With You, Padre” $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Lucrezia: XIV. Aria: “His Manner Is Gentle” $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Lucrezia: Xv. Aria: “Never Let It Be Said” $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Lucrezia: XVII. Duet: “Come Back to Bed” $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Lucrezia: XVIII. “Six On the Dot” $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Lucrezia: XIX. Quintet: “Onto the Morning” $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Musto, John [Piano] : Bastianello, comic opera
>Bolcom, William : Lucrezia, comic opera
Performers Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This two-disc set presents the world premiere recordings of new comic operas by John Musto and William Bolcom. The twin operas are on librettos written by Mark Campbell, and were commissioned by and composed for the excellent New York Festival of Song (NYFOS). Both operas were written for identical casts - the five singers heard on these recordings. NYFOS artistic director, Steven Blier writes: "Bill Bolcom's music for Lucrezia is exuberant and tonal, the opulent sound of desire. John Musto's musical world in Bastianello is more elusive and complex: chords often include elements of both major and minor, defying easy categorization. It is a fitting musical landscape for a piece that explores the way one moment can embrace many conflicting feelings. Lucrezia is a riotous piece where greed and deception are thwarted, and Bastianello, is a complex work in which a man learns the lesson of forgiveness." The 2-CD release comes packaged in a slipcase that contains a 112 page book with complete librettos for both operas.

"Mozart would have had a field day with this libretto, which Barcom garlands with his usual potpourri of tangos, waltzes, fandangos, habaneras, and the like. No grand profundities here, but a diverting hour of entertaining fluff, skillfully woven and nicely performed by these talented singers...Well deserved applause included."-American Record Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Musto, John [Piano] : Bastianello, comic opera
  • Performer: Paul Appleby (Voice)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary

>Bolcom, William : Lucrezia, comic opera
  • Performers: Michael Barrett (Piano); Steven Blier (Piano)
  • Period Time: Contemporary