1 800 222 6872

Matt Wilson (Drums): Matt Wilson's Christmas Tree-O [Digipak]

Track List

>Winter Wonderland
>Chipmunk Song, The (Christmas Don't Be Late)
>Angels/Angels We Have Heard on High
>Christmas Time Is Here
>You're a Mean One Mr. Grinch
>Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
>O Come O Come Emmanuel
>Mele Kalikimaki
>Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
>I'll Be Home for Christmas
>Hallelujah Chorus
>Snow Fall
>Little Drummer Boy
>We Wish You a Merry Christmas

Album Notes

Personnel: Matt Wilson (drums, timpani).

Recording information: Maggie's Farm (05/2010).

Photographer: Matt Wilson .

Drummer Matt Wilson's 2010 holiday-themed album Matt Wilson's Christmas Tree-O is an inspired and creative effort that balances a cheerful, festive vibe with progressive, avant-garde flair. Joining Wilson here are longtime bandmates reedman Jeff Lederer and bassist Paul Sikivie. Taking on such yuletide chestnuts as "Winter Wonderland," "Christmas Time Is Here," "O Come O Come Emmanuel," and "I'll Be Home for Christmas," Wilson's trio avoids much of the stale predictability of many similarly themed efforts by treating the material as pure jazz. In that sense, such songs as "The Chipmunk Song," "You're a Mean One Mr. Grinch," and the gloriously skronky "Hallelujah Chorus" bring to mind a mix of the bluesy, motivic style of Sonny Rollins and the experimental, forward-thinking free jazz of David S. Ware. For collectors searching for holiday albums that are left of center and for hardcore jazz aficionados, Matt Wilson's Christmas Tree-O is a welcome stocking stuffer. ~ Matt Collar


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product