1 800 222 6872

Franz Schmidt: Symphony No. 4, Variations über ein Husarenlied

Album Summary

>Schmidt, Franz : Symphony no 4 in C major
>Schmidt, Franz : Variations on a Hussar's Song for orchestra
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Naxos's critically acclaimed series of Franz Schmidt's lush late Romantic symphonies culminates with this new recording of his heartbreaking Symphony No. 4, conceived as a requiem for his daughter Emma. The Variations on a Hussar's Song, while recalling similar works by Brahms and Reger nonetheless showcases Schmidt's sensitive handling of large orchestral forces. Symphonies No. 1(8.570828), No. 2 (8.570589) and No. 3 (8.572119) are also available in what BBC Music magazine has praised as a 'consistently impressive cycle of Schmidt symphonies'.

"Sinaisky conveys the work's impacted grandeur and its cast-iron structural integrity very well indeed, and the Malmö orchestra rises to the challenge of its great climaxes most impressively." -The Guardian ****

"Let there be doubt, Franz Schmidt's Fourth (1933) is one of the finest of 20th-century symphonies...Sinaisky's previous recordings in this series have shown him to be a most sympathetic interpreter...So generally it proves here...Sinaisky undeniably makes his pacing work." -Gramophone Magazine

"The sound is once more among the best of Naxos's orchestral releases, while the couplings could not be more appropriate...Those coming new to [the Schmidt symphonies] could not hope for a better entrée than through Sinaisky's persuasive readings." -International Record Review

The filler is substantial - an extremely skillful, colorful set of variations for orchestra that reveals Schmidt as a wonderful orchestrator. And to anyone who claims that Schmidt's music lacks individuality or a distinctive voice, these Hussar Variations stand as a vivid refutation. Listen to three measures and tell me that this is not the same composer who wrote the symphony that precedes it on the disc. Once again, the performance is first-rate. Naxos's sound is well balanced and transparent, while not sacrificing richness. Keith Anderson's notes are informative.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (05/26/2008-05/31/2008); Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (06/04/2009-06/05/2009).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schmidt, Franz : Symphony no 4 in C major
  • Conductor: Vassili Sinaisky
  • Notes: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (05/26/2008-05/31/2008)
  • Running Time: 46 min. 30 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1932-1933

>Schmidt, Franz : Variations on a Hussar's Song for orchestra
  • Conductor: Vassili Sinaisky
  • Notes: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (06/04/2009-06/05/2009)
  • Running Time: 5 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1935