1 800 222 6872

Mendelssohn: Elias, Op. 70 / Spering

Album Summary

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Elijah, Op. 70
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Just as the composer would have wanted it, Christoph Spering has selected a full chorus and a magnificently dimensioned orchestra for this recording. The New Orchestra performs on historical instruments and in the two years since its founding has gained renown as an outstanding interpreter of the music of the romantic era. The Chorus Musicus Köln, like the orchestra, was founded by Christoph Spering. Brisk tempos, sharp delineation, powerful expression, and interpretive freshness are the hallmarks of this new discovery for the MDG Live label.

International Record Review
Spering directs an enthusiastic and briskly paced performance... Bauer is up among the best of them as the great Prophet, oozing authority and presence... Claudia Barainsky is full of life and spirit, mixing vocal purity with a sense of drama which gives great distinction to everything in which she is involved.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Alfried Krupp Saal the Philharmonie Essen (11/28/2009-11/29/2009).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Elijah, Op. 70
  • Performers: Claudia Barainsky; Thomas Bauer (Baritone); Rainer Trost (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Christoph Spering
  • Notes: Alfried Krupp Saal the Philharmonie Essen (11/28/2009-11/29/2009)
  • Running Time: 102 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 08/11/1846
  • Studio/Live: Live