1 800 222 6872

Gilbert & Sullivan: Patience

Audio Samples

  1. Patience: Act I: Overture $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Patience: Act I: "Twenty love-sick maidens" $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Patience: Act I: "There is a strange nagic" $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Patience: Act I: "Still brooding?I cannot tell" $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Patience: Act I: "Ah, Patience" $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Patience: Act I: "Twenty love-sick maidens" $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Patience: Act I: "The soldiers?If you want" $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Patience: Act I: "Well, here we are" $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Patience: Act I: "Yes, and here?In a doleful train" $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Patience: Act I: "Angela, what is the meaning" $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Patience: Act I: "Twenty love-sick?when I first" $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Patience: Act I: "Ah, Patience, come hither" $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Patience: Act I: "Long years ago" $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Patience: Act I: "Prithee, pretty maiden" $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Patience: Act I: "Patience, can it be?" $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Patience: Act I: "Let the merry cymbals sound" $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Patience: Act I: "Your maiden hearts" $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Patience: Act I: "Hold, stay your hand!" $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Patience: Act I: "But who is this?" $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Patience: Act II: "On such eyes" $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Patience: Act II: "Turn, oh turn" $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Patience: Act II: "The old, old tale" $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Patience: Act II: "A magnet hung" $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Patience: Act II: "At last they are gone" $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Patience: Act II: "Love is a plaintive song" $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Patience: Act II: "Everything has gone wrong" $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Patience: Act II: "So go to him" $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Patience: Act II: "If Saphir I choose" $0.99 on iTunes
  29. Patience: Act II: "It is very pleasant" $0.99 on iTunes
  30. Patience: Act II: "When I go out of doors" $0.99 on iTunes
  31. Patience: Act II: Angela, Ella, Saphir!" $0.99 on iTunes
  32. Patience: Act II: "After some debate" $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Sullivan, Arthur : Patience (Bunthorne's Bride), operetta
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Gilbert & Sullivan’s hilarious and tuneful 1881 spoof of Oscar Wilde and the Pre-Raphaelite movement is presented with complete music and dialog by the Ohio Light Opera. Patience was the sixth of the 14 Gilbert & Sullivan collaborations. It played for 850 performances, moving to the Savoy Theatre, where it was hailed as the first theatrical production to be lit entirely by electric light.

"Such a jewel of perfection as 'Patience' deserves a perfect jewel of a performance. This is it! I saw a production last summer, and it was sheer delight. I am most pleased to have an audio souvenir of such a pleasant evening in the theater... Julie Wright Costa was formerly a principal soprano at OLO and is now a true contralto, taking on the great female character roles. She creates a Lady Jane of epic proportions, rotund of voice. She has a magical way with the text, and she's a mean wrestler challenging an imposing double bass in her aria... OLO Music Director Michael Borowitz keeps the musical magic in the pit rollicking along-not a sign of fatigue or ennui from the young orchestra." -American Record Guide

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Wooster College, Wooster, OH (2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Sullivan, Arthur : Patience (Bunthorne's Bride), operetta
  • Conductor: Michael Borowitz
  • Running Time: 51 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1881