1 800 222 6872

Chopin: Concerto No. 2 Op. 21 - The 4 Versions

Album Summary

>Chopin, Frédéric : Concerto for Piano no 2 in F minor, B 43/Op. 21
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

In the 19th century it was customary for concertos to be performed publicly in four different versions, designed for both salons and concert halls. This CD features the world premiere recording of the four versions of Chopin’s Concerto No. 2 in F Minor, Op. 21: 1, for Piano and Orchestra, with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra conducted by Edvard Tchivzhel; 2, for solo piano in Chopin’s own arrangement; 3, for piano and string quintet, with the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra Quintet in the arrangement by pianist David Lively; and 4, for two pianos, where the second instrument plays transcriptions of the orchestral parts.

“Standing ovations are not rare But it is still unusual to see the whole hall rise in quick unison as the last chord is played, and that is what happened Friday when Cyprien Katsaris finished his program at Alice Tully Hall his playing had the intellectual, rhetorical, and technical substance to hold one engaged without the traditional care over variety or contrast.” — New York Times


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Frédéric Chopin (1810 - 1849) : Concerto for Piano no 2 in F minor, B 43/Op. 21
  • Performer: Cyprien Katsaris (Piano)
  • Conductor: Edvard Tchivzhel
  • Running Time: 120 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1830
  • Studio/Live: Live