1 800 222 6872

Dickie Landry: Fifteen Saxophones

Track List

>Fifteen Saxophones
>Alto Flute Quad Delay
>Kitchen Solos

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Following two jazz LPs issued on the legendary Chatham Square label (which he co-ran with Philip Glass and engineer Kurt Munkacsi), Dickie Landry released Fifteen Saxophones on the Northern Lights & Wergo labels in 1978. The recording simultaneously exhibits Landry’s boundary-pushing saxophone playing and his understanding of the minimalists’ emphasis on long-form treatises on sound itself. Using intricate Revox tape delays on "Fifteen Saxophones," "Alto Flute Quad Delay," and the side-long live document "Kitchen Solos," Landry’s strong personality as a player shines through the walls of sound he has created.

Album Notes

Personnel: Dickie Landry (saxophone).

Liner Note Author: Clifford Allen.

Photographer: Gianfranco Gorgoni.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review