1 800 222 6872

William Walton: Symphony No. 1; Violin Concerto / Accardo

Album Summary

>Walton, William : Symphony no 1 in B flat minor
>Walton, William : Concerto for Violin
Performer Conductors Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

William Walton's landmark First Symphony surges with drama and wrath then closing with jubilation, as Frémaux and the Philharmonia Orchestra deliver the piece flawlessly, and the Violin Concerto captures the sheer brilliance of virtuoso Accardo's art.

"Frémaux during his years with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra regularly showed what an understanding Waltonian he is. Here with the Philharmonia he conducts a beautifully paced, wellplayed account of the First Symphony, which consistently reveals his natural feeling for the ebb-and-flow of tension as well as of rubato needed in this of all Walton's works." -Gramophone


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Walton, William : Symphony no 1 in B flat minor
  • Conductor: Louis Frémaux
  • Running Time: 44 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1931-1935

>Walton, William : Concerto for Violin
  • Performer: Salvatore Accardo (Violin)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Running Time: 30 min. 6 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1939-1943