1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2; Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances / Sokhiev

Album Summary

>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Violin no 2 in G minor, Op. 63
>Rachmaninov, Sergey : Symphonic Dances, for orchestra (or 2 pianos), Op. 45
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff were in many ways complementary, both in character and as musicians... while Rachmaninoff was a brooding late-Romantic in style, Prokofiev, eighteen years his junior, started his career as an iconoclastic daredevil, increasingly willing to embrace the modernist trends of his time... " - Daniel Jaffé Continuing their series of critically acclaimed recordings for Naïve, Tugan Sokhiev leads the Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse in a rich Russian-themed program.

"Violinist Geneviève Laurenceau's performance of the Prokofiev is technically dazzling and musically fulfilling. She captures the two contrasting melodic moods well, from the harsh, angular, gritty chords of the finale to the sweet, luxurious second theme of the opening movement. Even the extremely high, piercing theme of the middle movement -- which can easily come across as shrill -- is played with tenderness and warmth." -All Music Guide

BBC Music Magazine
Laurenceau is commanding, ardent, colourful and intonation perfect. She makes some of the passages... sound like they've never done before; and the final begins with splendid swagger... The Toulouse Capitole Orchestra has its virtues, not least those bright, caressing woodwind who launch the central reverie of Rachmaninov's first symphonic dance.

Gramophone Magazine
[Laurenceau] has the measure of the amalgam that goes to make up Prokofiev's mid-1930s style... Crucial to the overall effectiveness of the performance is Tugan Sokhiev's sharp-eared conducting of the Toulouse Capitole Orchestra, in which colour is deftly and discerningly applied, impetus strong and the shifts in the music's temperament seamlessly executed.

International Record Review
Laurenceau is a seductive envoy of Prokofiev's opening gambit, drawing the listener in with a poetic and rich-sounding introduction; furthermore she is as technically athletic and tonally acerbic as is required later on... She not only plays marvellously and fantastically but has a distinct and compelling view of the concerto, relishing its contrasts of mood and also its beauty

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: La Halle Aux Grains, Toulouse, France (07/2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Violin no 2 in G minor, Op. 63
  • Performer: Geneviève Laurenceau (Violin)
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Notes: Composition written: 1935.
  • Running Time: 28 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1935

>Rachmaninov, Sergey : Symphonic Dances, for orchestra (or 2 pianos), Op. 45
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Notes: Composition written: 1940.
  • Running Time: 35 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1940