1 800 222 6872

Caifanes: El Nervio del Volcan

Track List

>Fuera, A
>Aqui No es Asi
>Ayer Me Dijo un Ave
>Hasta que Dejes de Respirar
>El Animal
>Quisiera Ser Alcohol
>Pero Nunca Me Cai
>El Ano del Dragon
>La Llorona

Album Notes

Caifanes: Saul Hernandez (vocals, guitar); Alejandro Marcovich (acoustic & electric guitars, violin, sound effects); Alfonso Andre (drums, African drum, bell tree, percussion, programming).

Additional personnel: Jerry Goodman (violin); Graham Nash (harmonica); Jerry Hey (trumpet); Yann Zaragoza (piano, Hammond organ, synthesizer); Jeffrey Marty Vanston (synthesizer); Stuart Hamm (bass); Federico Fong, Lenny Castro (congas, bongo, pandero, shaker, cencerro, tarolas, guiro, cabasa, percussion); Cecilia Toussaint (background vocals).

The last album released before Caifanes changed their name to Los Jaguares is a triumph of progressive pop-metal entwined with Latin ideas. Though the group is often compared to U2 the two have never sounded less similar; the band developed a harder style here that comes close to early Metallica territory at times. Though Saul Hernandez is a near match for Bono in his histrionic style and socially conscious lyrics, he adopts a low croon for many of these songs. The group's Mexican character is displayed through the Spanish lyrics, sinuous guitar lines, and lively percussion that is far more complex than most bands from North of the border. El Nervio del Volcan was a deservingly popular album and won over many American fans, some of whom spoke little or no Spanish but could tell a great band when they heard one. ~ Richard Foss


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product