1 800 222 6872

Puccini: Tosca / Covent Garden

Audio Samples

  1. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Ah! Finalmente! … E sempre lava! (Angelotti, Sagrestano, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Dammi i colori … Recondita armonia (Cavaradossi, Sagrestano) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Gente la dentro! (Cavaradossi, Angelotti, Tosca) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Mario! Mario! Mario! (Tosca, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Ah, quegli occhi (Tosca, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: E buona la mia Tosca … Siam soli? … Sommo giubilo, Eccellenza! (Cavaradossi, Angelotti, Sagrestano, Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Un tal baccano in chiesa! (Scarpia, Sagrestano, Spoletta) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Or tutto e chiaro … Mario?! Mario?! (Scarpia, Tosca, Sagrestano) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Ed io venivo a lui tutta dogliosa (Tosca, Scarpia) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Puccini — Tosca: Act I: Tre sbirri … Una carrozza … Adjutorum nostrum in nomine Domini (Scarpia, Spoletta, Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Tosca e un buon falco! (Scarpia, Sciarrone) $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Ha piu forte sapore la conquista violenta … Spoletta e giunto (Scarpia, Sciarrone, Spoletta) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Meno male! - Egli e la (Scarpia, Spoletta, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Ed or fra noi parliam da buoni amici Sciarrone: che dice il Cavalier? (Scarpia, Tosca, Sciarrone, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Orsu, Tosca, parlate (Scarpia, Tosca, Cavaradossi, Spoletta) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Basta, Roberti (Scarpia, Sciarrone, Tosca, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Nel pozzo del giardino … Eccellenza, quali nuove! … Vittoria! Vittoria! (Scarpia, Cavaradossi, Tosca, Sciarrone) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Se la giurata fede debbo tradir (Scarpia, Tosca) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: Vedi, le man giunte io stendo a te! (Tosca, Scarpia, Spoletta) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Puccini — Tosca: Act II: E qual via scegliete? … Tosca, finalmente mia! (Scarpia, Tosca) $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Puccini — Tosca: Act III: Mario Cavaradossi? A voi … (Carceriere, Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Puccini — Tosca: Act III: E lucevan le stelle (Cavaradossi) $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Puccini — Tosca: Act III: Ah! Franchigia a Floria Tosca … (Cavaradossi, Tosca) $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Puccini — Tosca: Act III: E non giungono (Tosca, Cavaradossi, Carceriere) $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Puccini — Tosca: Act III: Presto, su! Mario! Mario! … E lei (Tosca, Sciarrone, Spoletta, Soldiers) $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Puccini, Giacomo : Tosca
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This June 1955 performance of Puccini's Tosca marked Renata Tebaldi's first appearance with the Covent Garden Company. The roles of Cavaradossi and Scarpia were filled by two of Italy's finest singers, Ferruccio Tagliavini (Cavaradossi) and Tito Gobbi (Scarpia). The day after the performance The Times wrote of Tebaldi's Tosca, 'with an imposing presence, a fine voice, and a sure judgment of dramatic gesture she made Tosca credible and sympathetic in phrases that were molded to exploit every intonation of her voice'. The same critic praised Tagliavini, 'his voice is generous... and his tone does not harden in forte passages'. Gobbi's Scarpia was described as 'an aristocrat corrupted by power'.

"With an imposing presence, a fine voice, and a sure judgement of dramatic gesture she made Tosca credible and sympathetic in phrases that were moulded to exploit every intonation of her voice" -The Times

Opera News
One can only sigh at the thought of being able to choose between vintage 1955 performances by Callas and Tebaldi - surely a chore that any opera fan of today would love to tackle.

American Record Guide
Tebaldi... sings so beautifully... and with such power and richness... Molinari-Pradelli is a capable, well-seasoned conductor. The sound is fairly good in that the voices come through clearly...

Epoch Times
Renata Tebaldi made her triumphant Covent Garden debut in June 1955 and her performance of the title role of Puccini's Tosca... the performance is, in certain respects, timeless. Tebaldi's only competitor as the leading soprano of the era was Maria Callas, whose superlative studio recording of Tosca is often voted by critics as the best opera recording of all time.

But Tebaldi is a force of nature, the music flowing out of her and her acting is quite moving, even on a recording. The immense applause after Vissi d'arte attests to the potency of her performance.

In sum, for Tebaldi fans, this recording is irresistible.

... the relatively newly-released 1962 Met performance with Corelli and Price is a roof-raiser and is also highly recommended.

BBC Music Magazine
Tebaldi's heady tone is equal to every one of the role's musical demands, while dramatically she proves an engaged and potent heroine...[Gobbi's Scarpia] as always is dramatically thrilling; though not the greatest voice for the brutal police chief, Gobbi's baritone arguably provides more theatrical frisson than any other exponent. Francesco Molinari-Pradelli is an idiomatic conductor of very respectable forces.

International Record Review
Tebaldi's voice is remarkably fresh and secure, with all five high Cs in place and offering no problems, the registers perfectly knit and the sound grand, beautiful and womanly...Gobbi, is, of course, sui generis. From his opening, snarling statement in church, through his lascivious, sneering 'Ebbene' and disgusting 'Tosca, finalmente mia' and even beyond, he terrifies.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (06/30/1955).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Puccini, Giacomo : Tosca
  • Performers: Howell Glynne (Bass); Michael Langdon (Bass); Ferruccio Tagliavini (Voice)
  • Conductor: France Molinari-Pradelli
  • Ensemble: Covent Garden Opera Orchestra
  • Running Time: 5 min. 19 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1900