1 800 222 6872

Delibes: Coppelia; Sylvia / Dorati, Fistoulari

Album Summary

>Delibes, Léo : Sylvia
>Delibes, Léo : Coppélia
Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Minneapolis and London Symphony Orchestras astound us once again with this exciting new 3-CD set of some of the most classic ballet music. Conductors Antal Doráti and Anatole Fistoulari are masters of light orchestral textures with lightning reflexes. This album is one that will be welcomed by the balletomane audience as well as the connoisseurs of great European conducting tradition.

"Doráti’s Coppélia [is] a revelation. Never before has a top conductor taken such care over music of this calibre or made it sparkle so freshly Doráti’s tempi are sometimes faster than those favoured by ballet companies, but there are unlikely to be any dancers in your sitting room, and he does make Delibes sound a much better composer than usual. There is an excitement about these discs, an air of occasion, that makes them something rather special." -Gramophone

MusicWeb International
Here are two of the best French nineteenth century ballet scores played in exemplary style and vividly recorded. If this music has any appeal to you I would simply suggest that you stop reading and buy this set straightaway.


Beautiful Recordings of Timeless Ballets
Leo Delibes' masterpieces, Coppélia and Sylvia are played beautifully in stunning quality in this 3-CD set. The Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra do a perfectly execute recordings of Delibes' work. The accompanying booklet is also very helpful to those who aren't familiar with the history of the ballets and Delibes. I recommend these beautiful recordings to anyone interested in the music of classical ballet music.
Submitted on 11/20/11 by danrubin06 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Léo Delibes (Composer) (1836 - 1891) : Sylvia
  • Conductor: Anatole Fistoulari
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Watford Town Hall (06/28/1958-06/29/1958)
  • Running Time: 82 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1876

>Léo Delibes (Composer) (1836 - 1891) : Coppélia
  • Conductor: Antal Dorati
  • Ensemble: Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Northrup Auditorium, Minneapolis (12/21/1957-12/22/1957)
  • Running Time: 79 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1870