1 800 222 6872

Five Pieces: Music by Takemitsu, Hindemith, Janacek, Silvestrov / Duo Gazzana

Album Summary

>Takemitsu, Toru : Distance de Fee, for violin & piano
>Hindemith, Paul : Sonata for violin & piano in E major
>Janácek, Leos : Sonata for violin & piano, JW 7/7
>Silvestrov, Valentin : Pieces (5) for violin & piano
Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Highly attractive recording debut album of gifted Italian sisters Natascia and Raffaella Gazzana in a programme of 20th and 21st century pieces for violin and piano. This recital of Takemitsu, Hindemith, Janácek and Silvestrov is distinguished by its sensitivity and thoughtfulness and by the refined and insightful playing of the award-winning Duo Gazzana.

The album is titled after the "Five Pieces for Violin and Piano" by Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov which conclude the disc. These works, written in 2004, receive their first international release here in a context combining the familiar and the far-flung, which finds creative affinities between the music of four very different composers.

Hindemith's Sonata in E travels from pastoral beginnings to harmonic complexity, the Janácek Violin Sonata balances lyrical flow and expressive gestures, while Silvestrov - as ever - artfully addresses the ghosts and shadows of history in his gently-undulating music of memories. Toru Takemitsu's 'Distance de fée' (from 1951) was amongst the first pieces written by the Japanese composer at a time when he was still influenced by Messiaen and Debussy. Duo Gazzana has a special relationship to Japan and the Far East, and has toured there. (Five Pieces is issued simultaneously with "Landscapes" (4763938), another recording with music by a major Japanese composer, Toshio Hosokawa.)

Natascia and Raffaella Gazzana were born in Sora, near Rome. Their first 'official' concerts as Duo Gazzana were in the mid 1990s, but they have been playing together from the beginning of their musical education. Their parallel musical backgrounds - after attending Italian conservatoires, both studied in Lausanne and have won major scholarships and awards, at home and abroad - and love of chamber music has enabled the musicians to develop their shared sensed of harmony.

"The opening work on this disc is one of those things you can’t believe you’ve never heard before. And then you press repeat, and listen to it, grinning, again and again...Welcome to Distance de fée...Without gushing too much, this is one of the most beautiful things I’ve heard all year." -The Arts Desk

"Really it's only in the Janacek that the performers are at all stretched in terms of their impressive technique, and perhaps they could have given more. Apart from the Silvestrov, there are plenty of good competing versions of these works, but perhaps the couplings in this particular programme will make the disc attractive to purchasers." -BBC Music Magainze

"Graduates in visual arts and literature respectively, Natascia and Raffaella Gazzana convey no mean musical chemistry in a recital that has evidently been conceived as an overall unity...A recital that makes absolute sense on its own terms." -Gramophone

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Auditorio Radiotelevisione Svizzera, Lugano (03/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Takemitsu, Toru : Distance de Fée, for violin & piano
  • Ensemble: Duo Gazzana
  • Running Time: 6 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1951-1989

>Hindemith, Paul : Sonata for violin & piano in E major
  • Ensemble: Duo Gazzana
  • Running Time: 9 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1935

>Leos Janácek (Composer) (1854 - 1928) : Sonata for violin & piano, JW 7/7
  • Ensemble: Duo Gazzana
  • Running Time: 16 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1914-1915

>Silvestrov, Valentin : Pieces (5) for violin & piano
  • Ensemble: Duo Gazzana
  • Running Time: 14 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2004