1 800 222 6872

Beautiful Mechanical / Lott, Clark, Worden, Snider, Kahane

Notes & Reviews:

yMusic is a group of young performers who are actively engaged and equally comfortable in the overlapping classical and pop music worlds. Its unique instrumentation includes a traditional string trio as well as the distinctive combination of flute, clarinet and trumpet. This exciting composite of sounds has sparked a burgeoning repertoire of commissions from some of today's most important artists.

Beautiful Mechanical, the group's focused and stunning debut album, features compositions by indieclassical all-stars Annie Clark (St. Vincent), Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond), Ryan Lott (Son Lux), Gabriel Kahane, and New Amsterdam Records co-founders Sarah Kirkland Snider and Judd Greenstein. The compositions are assured and fervent yet tender and humane, the performances delicate yet fiercely virtuosic, making for a cohesive album that stands as a manifesto of what music-making in the 21st century can - and should - be.

"Few albums with such a diverse array of participants can boast uniformly high quality. But Beautiful Mechanical is the exception: a case in which many cooks leaven and thicken the broth. It looks to be one of contemporary classical’s noteworthy recordings of 2011." -Sequenza21

Notes & Reviews:

Personnel: Rob Moose (guitar, violin); Nadia Sirota (viola); Clarice Jensen (cello); Alexandra Sopp (flute, piccolo); Hideaki Aomori (clarinet); C.J. Camerieri (trumpet, horns).

Recording information: Mission Sound Studios, Brooklyn, NY (04/18/2011-04/21/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review