1 800 222 6872

Louis Andriessen: Anaïs Nin; De Staadt / Cristina Zavalloni, voice

Album Summary

>Andriessen, Louis : Anais Nin, for voice, orchestra & film
>Andriessen, Louis : De Staat for 2 sopranos, 2 mezzo-sopranos & chamber ensemble
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

An exciting start to a new orchestral collaboration for Signum Records, this disc is the first of a new series with the London Sinfonietta – one of the world's elite contemporary music ensembles, with a reputation built on the virtuosity of its performances and ambitious programming. This live recording brings together the world premiere of Anaïs Nin, a new work for soprano and small ensemble, alongside his famed work De Staat.

Anaïs Nin is a monodrama based on the diaries of the same famed author, as well as those of her lovers (Antonin Artaud, René Allendy, Henry Miller and her own father). A sometimes disturbing tale of desire and passion, Andriessen felt that the music should "closely track the irony, despair and passion of this brilliant, many-sided woman".

"With clarinet and sax used to evoke jazz-era Paris, a cabaret-flavoured, sometimes comical Kurt Weill ambience captures the amorality and loneliness in Nin's writing. It is paired with Andriessen's most famous composition, De Staat, in which the vocal group Synergy offer ruminations on music from Plato's Republic, set to the reedy, methodical cycles of Andriessen's early minimalist style." -The Independent

"The music [of 'Anaïs Nin'], with its syllabic vocal writing, reflects a rawness and bleakness whose desperation arises not so much from an uncontrollable libido as from a pathetic isolation. Zavalloni is excellent. De Staat (1976) addresses the notion of music as a political and social tool." -The Sunday Times

"Louis Andriessen has never shirked the big subjects, and here are two of the biggest: politics and sex. De Staat (1972-76) is a hard-hitting classic referencing Plato and Brecht in the struggle between "pure" music and its social context...this is an excellent start to the London Sinfonietta's new series for Signum." -The Observer

"Composed in the 1970s as "a contribution to the discussion about the place of music in politics", De Staat remains one of Andriessen's supreme achievements, an epic rechannelling of Stravinskyan rhythmic energy into his own raw-edged minimalism. That, much more than the newer work, is the reason for buying this disc." -The Guardian

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Queen Elizabeth Hall (04/14/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Andriessen, Louis : Anaïs Nin, for voice, orchestra & film
  • Performers: Han Buhrs (Voice); Cristina Zavalloni (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Running Time: 37 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2009-2010

>Andriessen, Louis : De Staat for 2 sopranos, 2 mezzo-sopranos & chamber ensemble
  • Conductor: David Atherton
  • Ensemble: London Sinfonietta
  • Running Time: 3 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1973-1976