1 800 222 6872

Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde / Rubens, Morloc, Schafer, Eiche

Album Summary

>Mahler, Gustav : Das Lied von der Erde
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

For the 100th anniversary of the premiere of "Das Lied von der Erde", Hansjörg Albrecht conceived of a new version of the work, which is now being released on CD for the first time. In this recording, Hans Bethge's brilliant texts are sung by four instead of the original two soloists. This recording is an entirely new arrangement for smaller orchestra and proves that Gustav Mahler's works have an equally amazing effect in a chamber music setting as they do with a larger orchestra.

this new recording include the augmented orchestra, which provides the salutary effect of more closely approximating Mahler's own, rendering a truer chamber-orchestra sound. The audio production is closely miked, providing plenty of power and definition for both instrumentalists and vocalists... this disc is definitely worth exploring.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Himmelfahrtskirche München-Sendling (01/14/2011-01/19/2001).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Mahler, Gustav : Das Lied von der Erde
  • Performer: Markus Schafer (Voice)
  • Conductor: Hansjörg Albrecht
  • Ensemble: Munich Bach Orchestra
  • Notes: Himmelfahrtskirche München-Sendling (01/14/2011-01/19/2011)
  • Running Time: 61 min. 1 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Vocal
  • Written: 1908-1909