1 800 222 6872

Hatian Fascination/Andrew Cyrille: Route de Freres [Digipak]

Track List

>Hope Springs Eternal
>Route De Frères, Pt. 1: Hills of Anjubeau
>Route De Frères, Pt. 2: Memories of Port-Au-Prince Afternoons
>Route De Frères, Pt. 3: Manhattan Swing
>C'mon Baby
>Spirit Music
>Mais (Percussion Duo)
>Ti Kawòl

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

All About Jazz - Raul d'Gama Rose
To experience ecstasy without the memory of it would certainly be a travesty. Fortunately, it may now be possible to have both - to have the near-perfect memory of being in the throes of ecstasy - and it is all because of the music on Route de FrFres by Andrew Cyrille and Haitian Fascination. More specifically, it is because of the character of "Jean" in the miraculous little Vodou piece which opens the album. It is the relentless and remarkable tapping of percussionists Frisner Augustin and the great Andrew Cyrille that creates a completely out-of-body experience, as if it was part of the Vodou ritual in which the song is usually sung. This is just one of the high points of the album, the experience of which - were it to be charted - might look like a printout of a rapidly beating heart on an electrocardiogram. Most of Cyrille's work might have this effect, but this album is truly extraordinary. It charts the musical sojourn of the drummer as he returns to his roots in Haiti and, metaphorically speaking, takes place en route on this "Road of the Brothers."

Cyrille's rTsumT is too wonderfully long to be celebrated in a 500-word review. Perhaps his most enduring legacy before this record is his contribution to Cecil Taylor's path-breaking bands of 1964 to 1975. If ever there was a rhythm colorist with the power to create the impulse to dance - like the great drummers from Sid Catlett through Max Roach, Elvin Jones and Brian Blade - Cyrille is it. It is a pity that being associated with the 1960s avant-garde movement in the musical arts has somewhat marginalized his contribution to music. Those who feel this way ought to recall his fine work with Coleman Hawkins. ... read more...

Album Reviews:

Down Beat (p.88) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Cyrille and his cohorts alternate between eloquent rhapsodies and festive grooves."

JazzTimes (p.51) - "ROUTE DE FRERES is the sound of experience rediscovering its youth and its roots....Heart, soul and brain are in sync here."

Album Notes

Personnel: Andrew Cyrille (drums); Frisner Augustin (vocals, percussion); Alix Pascal (acoustic guitar); Hamiet Bluiett (baritone saxophone); Lisle Atkinson (double bass).

Audio Mixers: Esa Santonen; Henrik Otto Donner; Janne Malén.

Liner Note Authors: Alix Pascal; Amiri Baraka.

Recording information: Clinton Studios, New York, NY (12/14/2005-12/15/2005).

Photographers: Stefania Zamparelli; Jussi Tiainen; Paul Osipow.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review