1 800 222 6872

Lucky Thompson: I Offer You

Track List

>Sun Out
>Yesterday's Child
>Moment of Truth, The
>Back Home from Yesterday

Album Notes

Personnel: Lucky Thompson (soprano & tenor saxophones); Cedar Walton (acoustic & electric pianos); Sam Jones (bass); Louis Hayes (drums).

Includes liner notes by George Petersen.

Personnel: Lucky Thompson (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Cedar Walton (piano, electric piano); Louis Hayes (drums).

Liner Note Author: George Petersen.

Photographer: Chuck Stewart.

After he stopped teaching in 1974, Lucky Thompson permanently dropped out of music. On what would be his final album, Thompson (along with keyboardist Cedar Walton, bassist Sam Jones, and drummer Louis Hayes) performs five mostly straight-ahead originals, "The Moment of Truth," and the standard "Cherokee." Thompson, switching between tenor and soprano, was still very much in his musical prime at the time of this LP but apparently soon became sick of the whole music business, a major loss to jazz. He plays quite well throughout the set. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product