1 800 222 6872

Schubert: String Quintet D.956; Quartettsatz D.703 / Tokyo Quartet, David Watkin, cello

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Quintet for Strings in C major, Op. 163/D 956
>Schubert, Franz : Quartet for Strings no 12 in C minor, D 703/Op. posth "Quartettsatz"
Performer Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Following their much-lauded Beethoven cycle, the members of the Tokyo String Quartet are joined by cellist David Watkin in a distinguished reading of Schubert's Quintet in C Major. One of Schubert's great masterpieces, the quintet is the last and perhaps the most haunting of all his chamber works, in which light and shadow, serenity and drama are presented in constant alternation. The disc also includes the Quartettsatz of 1820 with its lovely, fragmentary slow movement.

"Almost all the players who perform here seem stirred enough by the music's pathos and power to rise to the occasion...[to give] an intense, sweeping account of the work. I have no complaints, and for anyone who doesn't want the final degree of penetrating lyricism and anguish which you find in the very finest readings...this may prove an ideal version." -BBC Music Magazine

"A great deal of care and thought about phrasing, articulation, accents and dynamics has evidently gone into this impressive performance of the quintet...As a result, the essentially driven, haunted character of the work comes out unusually strongly...The Quartettsatz is vividly played, and it’s a bonus to hear the fragmentary andante." -The Sunday Times

Gramophone Magazine
The Tokyo String Quartet with David Watkin promise much as they traverse the slow harmonic progression that opens the first movement... They finish as impressively as they begin; but the middle movements arouse reservations... A degree of objectivity throughout weakens the reach to Elysium... The Tokyo stand back, refusing the minatory experience.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Air Studios, Lyndhurst Hall, London, UK (09/2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Quintet for Strings in C major, Op. 163/D 956
  • Performer: David Watkin (Cello)
  • Ensemble: Tokyo String Quartet
  • Running Time: 52 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1828

>Schubert, Franz : Quartet for Strings no 12 in C minor, D 703/Op. posth "Quartettsatz"
  • Notes: Composition written: 09/1820.
  • Running Time: 9 min. 35 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 09/1820