1 800 222 6872

Wishbone Ash: Elegant Stealth [Digipak]

Track List

>Reason To Believe
>Warm Tears
>Man With No Name
>Can't Go It Alone
>Give It Up
>Searching For Satellites
>Heavy Weather
>Migrant Worker
>Big Issues
>Invisible Thread

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

All About Jazz - Doug Collette
Recorded by the existing quartet headed by founding guitarist Andy Powell, the studio album is comparable in quality and style with the live performances from the Ash era of 1976-1980. Elegant Stealth is uniformly strong from start to finish with the exception of the hidden track, an extraneous electronica mix of the opening "Reason to Believe." The vocal and instrumental trademarks of vintage Wishbone Ash appear consistently throughout, as does the mix of acoustic and electric textures, particularly on "Warm Tears."

Most tracks on the 76-minutes plus disc feature healthy improvisational interludes - the concluding cut "Invisible Thread" clocks in at over eleven minutes - where the guitarists solo with intelligence mirrored in the rhythm section. All four members of the current Wishbone Ash - in addition to Powell, basssit Bob Skeat, guitarist Muddy Manninen and percussionist Joe Crabtree - possess an extensive instrumental vocabulary and this sophistication is indicative of the high standards to which Andy Powell aspires in carrying on the band's name. ... read more...


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review