1 800 222 6872

Rossini: Il Turco in Italia / Cecilia Bartoli, Alessandro Corbelli, Ramon Vargas

Album Summary

>Rossini, Gioachino : Il turco in Italia (The Turk in Italy), opera
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Cecilia Bartoli (Fiorilla), Ramon Vargas (Narciso), Michele Pertusi (Selim), Laura Polverelli (Zaida), Alessandro Corbelli (Don Geronio), Roberto De Candia (Prosdocimo), Francesco Piccoli (Albazar)
Coro del Teatro alla Scala di Milano and Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano, Richard Chailly

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Chailly has recorded the work before, but in the years since he's matured as a Rossini conductor, and the Scala orchestra has this music under its fingers; there's an energy and vitality to this playing that's infectious. For his earlier recording, Montserrat CaballT was an underpowered Fiorilla; but Cecilia Bartoli is full of fire and mettle here (her 'Sqallido veste bruna' is sensational). Michele Pertusi is a fine Selim whose performance seems to breathe stage experience - it's a characterisation that's as vocally fine as it's theatrically adept. Alessandro Corbelli, reinforcing his credentials as a Rossini singer of flair and panache, is a strongly characterised Geronio. This is a recording that smacks of the theatre, and unlike so many so-called comic operas, has lost nothing in its transfer to disc. Under Chailly's baton it fizzes and crackles like few other sets - recitatives are dispatched with the assurance of native Italian speakers, and with a genuine feeling for the meaning of the text. Decca's recording is beautifully judged and the set makes a fine modern alternative to the now classic (but cut) 1954 recording under Gavazzeni with Maria Callas.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Sala Verdi, Conservatorio di Musica "Giuseppe Verdi", M (07/07/1997-07/18/1997).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rossini, Gioachino : Il turco in Italia (The Turk in Italy), opera
  • Performer: Massimiliano Bullo (Fortepiano)
  • Conductor: Riccardo Chailly
  • Ensemble: La Scala Opera Orchestra
  • Notes: Sala Verdi, Conservatorio di Musica "Giuseppe Verdi", Milan (07/07/1997-07/18/1997)
  • Running Time: 98 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1814