1 800 222 6872

Benjamin Britten: War Requiem / Edith Wiens, Nigel Robson, Hakan Hagegard

Album Summary

>Britten, Benjamin : War Requiem, Op. 66
Performer Conductors Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Benjamin Britten's War Requiem was written for the 1962 re-consecration ceremony for Coventry Cathedral, which was destroyed during the Battle of Britain in World War II. The work was not only a public statement of Britten's anti-war convictions, but also a warning to future generations of the senselessness of taking up arms against one's fellow men. The libretto of the War Requiem intersperses the Latin Mass for the Dead with nine powerful and highly emotional poems written by Wilfred Owen, a World War I footsoldier who was killed a week before the Armistice. Here, Kurt Masur leads the Israel Philharmonic, vocal soloists and the Prague Philharmonic Choir in a live recording made in 1996.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Mann Aduitorium, Tel-Aviv (04/08/1996).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : War Requiem, Op. 66
  • Performer: Nigel Robson (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Mendi Rodan
  • Ensemble: Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 37 min. 27 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1961
  • Studio/Live: Live