1 800 222 6872

Maurice Ohana: Complete Piano Music Vol. 2 / Douze études d'interpretation / Prodromos Symeonidis, piano

Audio Samples

Notes & Reviews:

Pianist Prodromos Symeonidids continues to record the complete piano music of composer Maurice Ohana in this second volume.=The twelve Études d'Interpretation are perfused by an immediate expressiveness which overwhelms the listener. Ohana portrays the primeval force of nature with all its extremes, uncompromising and untamed as though through a ritual of primeval man.

American Record Guide, July / August 2012
This powerful and exciting release fulfills all the promises established in Symeonidis's first volume of Ohana piano music (May/June 2010). Better than that, this one injects a few new colors through the addition of percussionist Friedemann Werzlau for the last two etudes. In 11, 'Sons Confondus', the effect of the collaboration is the creation of a virtual super-piano. The music exhibits the same quiet-loud alternations as the first ten etudes, but now the tones achieve new depth via the coloring of tam-tams, rattles, and cymbal scrapes. The final number stands out and closes the program with a flourish. Arranged as a dialog between the players, the movement opens with a few tentative trade-offs between piano and tam-tams before flowering into a fantastic atonal jazz jam.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased