1 800 222 6872

Unearthing: Poulenc, Bacewicz, Arnold, Rodrigo / Guy Figer, violin; Anna Khanina, piano

You may experience problems playing the sound clips on this page. We are aware of this problem and are working on it.
> Violin Sonata, FP 119 - I. Allegro con fuoco
> Violin Sonata, FP 119 - II. Intermezzo: Tres lent et calme
> Violin Sonata, FP 119 - III. Presto tragico
> Violin Sonata No. 4 - I. Moderato
> Violin Sonata No. 4 - II. Andante ma non troppo
> Violin Sonata No. 4 - III. Scherzo: Molto vivace
> Violin Sonata No. 4 - IV. Finale: Con passione
> 5 Pieces, Op. 84 - No. 1. Prelude
> 5 Pieces, Op. 84 - No. 2. Aubade
> 5 Pieces, Op. 84 - No. 3. Waltz
> 5 Pieces, Op. 84 - No. 4. Ballad
> 5 Pieces, Op. 84 - No. 5. Moto perpetuo
> Sonata pimpante - I. Allegro
> Sonata pimpante - II. Adagio - Allegro vivace - Adagio
> Sonata pimpante - III. Allegro molto

Notes & Reviews:

Praised for their "devotion and original programming" (Ha'aretz, Israel), Duo Figer-Khanina (f.2006) is a violin and piano duo formed with the goal of exploring rarely played repertoire composed for these voices. The duo performs regularly in Europe, Israel and North America.

American Record Guide, July / August 2012
The Poulenc Sonata has had a recent resurgence of popularity. Written in 1943 for Ginette Niveu and dedicated to Federico Garcia Lorca, the piece was ignored by violinists for decades. As the opening work of the program it ends up a kind of reference point for the other music. This reading of the Poulenc is a bit aggressive in the faster sections of I and III and a bit maudlin in the slower dramatic sections of III, when compared with Augustin Hadelich's reading (M/J 2011), but it is still a solid interpretation and Figer and Khanina do some excellent playing.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review