1 800 222 6872

Small Faces: From the Beginning [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]

Track List

>Runaway - (mono)
>My Mind's Eye - (mono)
>Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow - (mono)
>That Man - (mono)
>My Way of Giving - (mono)
>Hey Girl - (mono)
>(Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me - (mono)
>Take This Hurt Off Me - (mono)
>All or Nothing - (mono)
>Baby Don't You Do It - (mono)
>Plum Nellie - (mono)
>Sha La La La Lee - (mono)
>You've Really Got a Hold on Me - (mono)
>What'cha Gonna Do About It - (mono)
>Almost Grown - (mono)
>Understanding - (mono)
>I Can't Dance with You - (mono)
>I Can't Make It - (mono)
>Just Passing - (mono)
>Runaway [Alternate Mix] - (mix, remix, previously unreleased)
>That Man [Alternate Mix] - (mix, remix, previously unreleased, mono)
>Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow [Alternate Mix] - (mix, remix, previously unreleased, mono)
>My Mind's Eye [Alternate Mix In Electronically Processed Stereo] - (mix, remix)
>Picanniny [Backing Track] - (previously unreleased, mono)
>Hey Girl [Different Version] - (mono)
>Take This Hurt Off Me [Different Version] - (mono)
>Baby Don't You Do It [Different Version] - (mono)
>All or Nothing [Alternate Mix In Electronically Processed Stereo] - (mix, remix)
>Understanding [Alternate Mix In Electronically Processed Stereo] - (mix, remix)
>Talk to You [Take 5] [Backing Track] - (previously unreleased, take, mono)
>All Our Yesterdays [Take 7] [Backing Track] - (previously unreleased, take, mono)
>(Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me [Alt Take 2] - (previously unreleased, alternate take, mono)
>Show Me the Way [Take 3] [Backing Track] - (previously unreleased, take, mono)
>I Can't Make It [Take 11] [Backing Track] - (previously unreleased, take, mono)
>Things Are Going to Get Better [Take 14] - (previously unreleased, take)

Album Notes

The 1997 release of FROM THE BEGINNING contains 5 additional tracks that were not contained on the original release.

The Small Faces: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitar); Ian McLagen (vocals, guitar, organ); Ronnie Lane (vocals, bass); Jimmy Winston (organ); Kenney Jones (drums).

Includes liner notes by John Reed.

Digitally remastered by John Astley and Simon Heyworth.

Personnel: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Ian McLagan (piano, organ, background vocals); Ronnie Lane (bass guitar, background vocals); Kenney Jones (drums, percussion).

Audio Remasterer: Nick Robbins.

Liner Note Authors: Derek Johnson ; Mark Paytress.

Recording information: Decca Studios; I.B.C. Studios; Olympic Studios.

Photographers: Rob Caiger; Barry Green .

Arranger: Small Faces.

Another remastering of a classic piece of mid-'60s British rock & soul, and as important and enjoyable a record as, say, the Beatles' Rubber Soul or the Stones' Aftermath, even if the album itself was slapped together by Decca in an effort to undercut the band's first new release for rival Immediate Records in 1967. Steve Marriott's honest, agonized cover of the Del Shannon classic "Runaway" almost makes up for the fact that neither Otis Redding nor Marvin Gaye ever got around to applying their respective talents to this jewel of a song. That's just the opening number, and there's some stuff even better than that here. There are some songs that overlap with the Immediate stuff, including some really spaced-out psychedelia ("Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow"), cool dance numbers ("Have You Ever Seen Me"), some repeated tracks ("What'cha Gonna Do About It," "Sha-La-La-La-Lee") from the Decca Small Faces album), killer Motown paeans ("You've Really Got a Hold on Me" -- picture the early Who on a really, really good day covering this), and one original ("All or Nothing") that should be required listening for anyone who thinks they know the best music of the British invasion. And then there are the five bonus tracks, four from French-issued EPs that are completely different (and better) takes of "Baby Don't You Do It" et al, and a live BBC-recorded version of "What'cha Gonna Do About It." Marriott's playing on the latter is so loud and powerful, it could have melted the instruments of any American garage band this side of the Litter. At $11.99 list, this disc and its companion Small Faces reissue are the biggest British Invasion bargains going. ~ Bruce Eder


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review