1 800 222 6872

Andrew Swift: Swift Kick [Digipak]

Track List

>Kisor the Despiser - (featuring Ryan Kisor)
>Rio Dawn, The
>Soldier - (featuring Ryan Kisor)
>Slit Drum Interlude
>Song For Sherin - (featuring Eric Alexander)
>Is That So? - (featuring Michael Dease/Eric Alexander)
>Alfie - (featuring Wycliffe Gordon)
>Baptized With Fire - (featuring Sharel Cassity/Ryan Kisor)
>Goodbyes - (featuring George Cables/Tim Mayer)
>As the Deer - (featuring Sharel Cassity)
>Understanding - (featuring Michael Dease/Sharel Cassity/Jeb Patton)

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

All About Jazz - Edward Blanco
Currently the drummer for saxophonist Sharel Cassity and her quintet, the Matt Garrison Project as well as being the drumming voice for many nationally syndicated television commercials, Australian drummer Andrew Swift unveils his debut with Swift Kick, a remarkably engaging piece of musical mastery. There's no doubt about this outing, critics and audiences alike will devour this with pleasure - and why not? The compositions and arrangements are sophisticated, the cast of all-star veterans first rate, and the artist himself, gifted with the pen, the slit drum, timpani and guitar. Delivering a powerful kick sure to resonate, Swift's first effort is a jewel of an album containing that certain blend of excellent music, great players and performances putting a shine on every piece.

Produced by New York trombonist Michael Dease for D Clef Records, the album cover alone provides a clue of what is in store listing only a handful of the musicians gracing this recording. Aside from Dease, Cassity and Garrison, pianist George Cables, trombonist extraordinaire Wycliffe Gordon, bassist Dwayne Burno, saxophone great Eric Alexander and guitarist Yotam Silberstein are but a few of the stars appearing here. Contributing five modern originals along with new treatments of several uncommon standards and covers, Swift gathers a terrific selection of material designed to maintain interest and engagement. ... read more...

Album Notes

Personnel: Andrew Swift (drums); George Cables (piano).

Audio Mixer: Andrew Swift.

Liner Note Author: Sheila Anderson.

Recording information: Cabin 17 Productions (01/15/2011); Swiftsounds (01/15/2011); Tedesco Studios, Paramus, NJ (01/15/2011).

Photographer: Kelly Tunney.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review