1 800 222 6872

Gounod: Roméo et Juliette / Slatkin, Domingo, Swenson

Album Summary

>Gounod, Charles : Romeo et Juliette
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"Ruth Ann Swenson's Juliette sails through the coloratura with right illusion of effortlessness. The vivacious Susan Graham absolutely runs away with the role of the page Stephano. Leonard Slatkin's conducting maintains a well-judged pace. He shapes the phrases with exactly the right grace, and conjures up considerable warmth from the Munich players without obscuring Gounod's lighter textures. A first rate recording. ***** Classic CD


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Gounod, Charles : Roméo et Juliette
  • Performers: Paul Clarke (Tenor); Placido Domingo; Susan Graham (Mezzo-soprano); Kurt Ollmann (Baritone); Ruth Swenson (Soprano); Alain Vernhes (Bass)
  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin
  • Notes: Studio 1, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Munich, Germany (11/29/1995-12/10/1995)
  • Running Time: 131 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1865-1871