1 800 222 6872

Hans Pfitzner: Cello Concerto; John Mayer: Praghanda; Ragamalas / Rohan de Saram, cello

Album Summary

>Pfitzner, Hans : Concerto for Cello no 1 in G major, Op. 42
>Mayer, John [Violin] : Prabhanda for cello & piano
>Mayer, John [Violin] : Ragamalas (6) for cello & tanpura
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

In 1935, the German composer Hans Pfitzner wrote a rousing cello concerto for Rohan de Saram's teacher, Gaspar Cassadó. With an abundance of irresistible qualities, the work possesses extraordinary richness and delight. A self-described anti-modernist, Pfitzner's best known work is the post-Romantic opera Palestrina, loosely based on the life of the great sixteenth-century composer. This recording, featuring de Saram accompanied by the Netherlands Radio Orchestra led by Bohumil Gregor, marks the work's first appearance on CD. The concerto is coupled with two Indian influenced chamber works by John Mayer, the Prabhanda for cello and piano and the Ragamalas for cello and tanpura.

American Record Guide, September / October 2012
John Mayer (1929-2004) manages to move our consciousness into Indian idioms without any great shock to the senses. Perhaps that is because the first suite, Prabhanda, is played with piano, so by the time we are introduced to the twang of the tanpura we are prepared for it. These pieces were written for Saram in 1982 and 1983 and are all about the Indian ragas. They are quite beautiful concepts and are played with energy and poetic expression. If following this fine cellist into a world most of us were unaware that he was a part of interests you, or if you want a fine recording of a littleknown cello concerto, this is the place to go.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Pfitzner, Hans : Concerto for Cello no 1 in G major, Op. 42
  • Performer: Rohan de Saram (Cello)
  • Conductor: Bohumil Gregor
  • Ensemble: Netherlands Radio Orchestra
  • Running Time: 16 min. 1 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1935

>Mayer, John [Violin] : Prabhanda for cello & piano
  • Performers: Druvi De Saram (Piano); Rohan de Saram (Cello)
  • Running Time: 1 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary

>Mayer, John [Violin] : Ragamalas (6) for cello & tanpura
  • Performers: Rohan de Saram (Cello); John Mayer (Tanpura)
  • Running Time: 5 min. 36 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary