1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture; Capriccio Italien

Notes & Reviews:

Gramophone Magazine
Kenneth Alwyn has secured exceptionally good playing from the London Symphony Orchestra ; the woodwind, in particular, shape their phrases most beautifully, and with first-class ensemble... The shaping of the music as a whole is very good, too, with a broad introduction to the Capriccio (making the triplets doubly difficult!), and effective dovetailing of the various tempos both in this piece and in the overture. In every respect, in fact, this is a first-class record.

Gramophone Magazine
As I expected, the Tchaikovsky still comes up to demonstration standard with the final canons and carillon of 1812 as exciting and brash as anything since. The performances under Kenneth Alwyn are very good indeed, particularly 1812 (why has he been so neglected by the companies?) and at the new price the bargain is excellent.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review