1 800 222 6872

Beaux Arts Trio: Concert 1960 - Maurice Ravel, Johannes Brahms

Album Summary

>Brahms, Johannes : Trio for Piano and Strings no 1 in B major, Op. 8
>Ravel, Maurice : Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in A minor
Performer Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

When the Beaux Arts Trio played this concert in 1960, the soon to be world famous ensemble was only 5 years old. During the next 48 years and several changes in membership, the Beaux Arts would become recognized as one of the greatest classical music ensembles in the world, under the constant leadership of Menahem Pressler. In September 2008, the Beaux Arts Trio played its final concert - but here you can admire their beginnings.

"The 1854 Brahms B Major Trio receives a fiery reading, indeed, with all three participants in particularly febrile temper, driving the opening pages... Only at the secondary subject of the portentous B Minor Scherzo does the Beaux Arts first permit a melancholy rapture to invade its otherwise defensive posture. Here, Greenhouse can exult, and Guilet exerts an absolutely magma heat on the tremolos. The silken keyboard filigree produced by Pressler in the late pages of the Scherzo convince us he had magic on his side." -Audiophile Audition

BBC Music Magazine, June 2012
The Beaux Arts' original personnel deliver impassioned Brahms and nuanced Ravel with great immediacy in these live recordings. Pity the piano sound is muffled.

MusicWeb International, January 2013
[The Ravel] opens with restrained nobility, with power as well as refinement defining characteristics. The scherzo is notably well characterised...the performances and the excellent broadcast quality certainly warrant investigation from this group's admirers.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Schwetzinger Schloss (05/28/1960).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Brahms, Johannes : Trio for Piano and Strings no 1 in B major, Op. 8
  • Performer: Beaux Arts Trio (Trio)
  • Ensemble: Beaux Arts Trio
  • Running Time: 28 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1853

>Ravel, Maurice : Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in A minor
  • Performer: Beaux Arts Trio (Trio)
  • Running Time: 24 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1914