1 800 222 6872

Gossip: A Joyful Noise

Track List

>Melody Emergency
>Perfect World
>Get a Job
>Move in the Right Direction
>Casualties of War
>Into the Wild
>Get Lost
>I Won't Play
>Love in a Foreign Place

Album Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly (p.76) - "[T]he album has bursts of riot-disco alchemy..."

Billboard (p.32) - "[B]y second track 'Perfect World' we're into the buoyant, synth-propelled dance pop that Gossip does so well....A JOYFUL NOISE is a job well done."

Q (Magazine) (p.102) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "A JOYFUL NOISE is utterly in thrall to Europop, with producer Brian Higgins of Xenomania adding his trademark electro beats and synth squiggles."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Higgins draws out Gossip's disco and house leanings without sacrificing the punk snarl....[With] toweringly camp singles like the slinky 'Perfect World'..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.73) - "Casualties Of War', 'Horns' and 'I Won't Play' are swooning souvenirs from love's battlefield, but best of all is 'Get A Job,' a trustafarian-baiting disco romp."

Album Notes

Personnel: Beth Ditto (vocals); Nathan Howdeshell (guitar, keyboards, programming); Hannah Blilie (drums, percussion, programming); Jeremy Sherrer (percussion); Brian Higgins, Matt Gray, Owen Parker, Kieran Jones, Jason Resch, Fred Falke, Jerry Bouthier, Andrea Gorgerino, Luke Fitton, Joshua Jenkin, Sam Martin , Toby Scott (programming).

Audio Mixers: Brian Higgins; Matt Gray; Toby Scott.

Recording information: KBC Records, Portland, OR; Xenomania Studios, England.

Photographers: Rankin ; Mike Larremore.

Olympia dance-punk trio Gossip return with A Joyful Noise, their first album in three years. The new record follows 2009's Music for Men, an album that made significant waves in the U.K., expanding the band's caché exponentially. A Joyful Noise finds the band working with producer Brian Higgins of Xenomania, known for his hit-making work with Kylie Minogue, Pet Shop Boys, and others. The album's enormous production sees Gossip incorporating striking house and disco influences into their D.I.Y. punk-rooted dance songs, all of which are guided by vocalists Beth Ditto's boomingly powerful vocals. The album is the group's second for Capitol Records.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review