1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Complete Concertos / Kovacevich, Krebbers, Arrau, Szeryng, Starker & Grumiaux

Notes & Reviews:

Gramophone Magazine
Outstanding performances ... There is the absolute clarity and sparkle of his fingerwork, the magical hush of [Kovacevich's] soft playing, the captivating gradation of tone when he moves in a short phrase from brilliance to deep tenderness ... Above all, the records are distinguished by the rapport between soloist and conductor. Neither is a sensation-seeking artist; both have the integrity that puts the music first, so that you can be sure you are hearing Beethoven as they feel he intended.

Gramophone Magazine
Krebbers gives a finely lyrical performance, yet also one with nobility, which takes its place among those by Grumiaux and Suk - and no praise could be higher than that [... ] Krebbers's fine performance shows great musicianship, all based on an impeccable technical skill - not a note is hesitantly placed. As both soloist and orchestra sound forward, the balance is good.

Gramophone Magazine
The high spot is the slow movement; in particular, Starker's exquisite playing of his melody at the start. This is really beautiful..


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review