1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Chamber Music for Strings - complete quartets & quintets; trios; duos

Notes & Reviews:

For the first time complete in one set: the works f or string ensemble by Mozart. Ranging from the duos for violin and viola to the magnificent string quintets, these works show Mozart's genius in ensemble writing, finding the perfect balance of harmony and counterpoint, while expressing the whole gamut of human emotions, from debonair gaiety to dark despair. Featuring superb performances by acclaimed ensembles and instrumentalists, this collection is a fantastic way to delve deeper into Mozart's works for string ensemble. With over 12 hours of music, this box set will be a worthwhile addition to any music lover's library.

American Record Guide, November/December 2012
I found this set of reissues listed at around $47, which I believe is a fair price for the readings in this set that are worth hearing (7 discs out of 12).

MusicWeb International, August 2012
The glamorous sound and slight reverberation given to the Franz Schubert Quartet ideally suits their generous tone, whereas too many other recordings sound flat by comparison; it also particularly enhances their judicious application of subtly graded dynamics - a virtue especially noticeable in K575.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review