1 800 222 6872

Bruno Walter Edition - Bruckner: Symphony no 4 / Columbia SO

Album Summary

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 4 in E flat major ("Romantic"), WAB 104
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"...Bruno Walter's 1960 recording is transformed by its CD remastering, with textures clearer, strings full and brass sonourous... The superbly played 'hunting horn' Scherzo is wonderfully vivid. Walter makes his recording orchestra sound remarkably European in style and timbre... Walter's special feeling for Bruckner means that he can relax over long musical paragraphs and retain his control of the structure, while the playing has fine atmosphere and no want of mystery." -Penguin


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 4 in E flat major ("Romantic"), WAB 104
  • Conductor: Bruno Walter
  • Ensemble: Columbia Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: American Legion Hall, Hollywood California (02/13/1960/02/15/1960)
  • Running Time: 65 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1874-1888