1 800 222 6872

Christopher Wright: Concerto for Violin 'And then there was Silence ...'; Momentum: Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 5 / Fenella Humphreys, violin

Album Summary

>Wright, Christopher : Momentum, for orchestra
>Wright, Christopher : Concerto for Violin ("And then there was silence")
>Vaughan Williams, Ralph : Symphony no 5 in D major
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This disc presents the world premiere recording of Peter Horton's new edition of Vaughan Williams' fifth symphony. Horton's version addresses many of the textural problems left in the published score. Horton explains, "The composer's notoriously hard-to-read handwriting caused further problems, as the copyist assigned to make a fair copy of the score introduced a large number of mistakes, principally (but not exclusively) in the phrasing and articulation." The coupling is Christopher Wright's deeply felt violin concerto, sensitively played by Fenella Humphreys. Wright's concerto was written in memory of his wife, and looks to Walton for its stylistic roots, especially in the scherzando elements of the middle movement. Tenor Christopher Watson is featured in the work's final movement.

International Record Review
Fenella Humphrey's performance is a wonder, and Christopher Watson, too, though backwardly balanced, sings with total conviction...The performance is very fine...The Romanza is as passionate and richly euphonious as you are likely to hear, and the return of the symphony's opening music shortly before the end is most convincingly handled...I warmly recommend this beautifully recorded disc.

BBC Music Magazine, October 2012
Wright's idiom - both listener-friendly and superbly skilled, with never a wasted note - has no problems sustaining a 35-minute design. Violinist Fenella Humphreys responds to its elegiac reflection and technical display at top-flight level, offering emotional depth and weight of tone...The performance [of the Vaughan Williams] is as moving, and as beautifully paced and played...as any I have heard.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wright, Christopher : Momentum, for orchestra
  • Conductor: Martin Yates
  • Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra
  • Running Time: 7 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2008

>Wright, Christopher : Concerto for Violin ("And then there was silence")
  • Performer: Fenella Humphreys (Violin)
  • Conductor: Martin Yates
  • Ensemble: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 32 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2010

>Vaughan Williams, Ralph : Symphony no 5 in D major
  • Conductor: Martin Yates
  • Running Time: 38 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1938-1943