1 800 222 6872

Zoltan Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite; Dances Galanta; Erno Dohnanyi: Konzertstück for Cello / Janos Starker, cello

> Hary Janos Suite - I. Kezdodik a mese (The Fairy Tale Begins)
> Hary Janos Suite - II. Becsi harangjatek (Viennese Musical Clock)
> Hary Janos Suite - III. Dal (Song)
> Hary Janos Suite - IV. Napoleon csataja (The Battle and Defeat of Napoleon)
> Hary Janos Suite - V. Kozjatek (Intermezzo)
> Hary Janos Suite - VI. A csaszari udvar bevonulasa (Entrance of the Emperor and his Court)
> Konzertstuck, Op. 12 - Konzertstuck, Op. 12
> Galantai tancok (Dances of Galanta) - Galantai tancok (Dances of Galanta)

Album Summary

>Kodaly, Zoltan [Composer] : Hary Janos, suite from the opera for orchestra
>Dohnányi, Ernst von : Konzertstück for Cello and Orchestra in D major, Op. 12
>Kodaly, Zoltan [Composer] : Dances of Galanta (Galanti tancok), for orchestra
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

When Kodály constructed a suite of music from his opera Háry János, he further immortalized the braggart soldier of the title. Dreamlike and fantastic, the six scenes are imbued with imaginative writing of sweeping intensity, embracing a love-duet, a mock-epic battle, a folk song, and a vigorous recruiting dance. In the Dances of Galánta he again employed the Hungarian verbunkos recruiting dance tradition to celebrate the eightieth anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Society. The Konzertstück of his compatriot and near-contemporary Ernö Dohnányi is a full scale cello concerto of considerable lyric beauty. Gerard Schwarz was Music Director of the Seattle Symphony from 1985 to 2011. He currently serves as Seattle Symphony Conductor Laureate and Music Director of the Eastern Music Festival. His considerable discography of over 330 releases showcases his collaborations with some of the world's greatest orchestras, including the Czech Philharmonic, the London Symphony, Berlin Radio Symphony, Orchestre National de France and the Seattle Symphony, among others.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Seattle Center Opera House, USA.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Zoltán Kodály (Composer) (1882 - 1967) : Háry János, suite from the opera for orchestra
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Ensemble: Seattle Symphony
  • Running Time: 23 min. 40 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1926-1927

>Ernst von Dohnányi (Composer) (1877 - 1960) : Konzertstück for Cello and Orchestra in D major, Op. 12
  • Performer: János Starker (Cello)
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Running Time: 24 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 07/21/1905

>Zoltán Kodály (Composer) (1882 - 1967) : Dances of Galánta (Galánti táncok), for orchestra
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Running Time: 16 min. 56 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1933