1 800 222 6872

Felix Mendelssohn: Elijah / Christine Wolff, Britta Schwarz, Markus Schafer, Klaus Mertens

Album Summary

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Elijah, Op. 70
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Nineteenth century oratorio composition reached its zenith with Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy's Elijah. Just as Handel's Messiah, written a century earlier, had been quickly and triumphantly received, Elijah was immediately recognized as a glorious work of musical mastery. Mendelssohn's music conveys the multifarious moods of the character of Elijah - from his cruel and dramatic fire to his later humility and resignation - with unfailing clarity.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Schlosskirche Weilburg an der Lahn (11/09/2011-11/14/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Elijah, Op. 70
  • Performers: Klaus Mertens (Bass); Markus Schafer (Voice); Christine Wolff (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Doris Hagel
  • Ensemble: Kantorei der Schlosskirche Weilburg
  • Notes: Schlosskirche Weilburg an der Lahn (11/09/2011-11/14/2011)
  • Running Time: 4 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 08/11/1846