1 800 222 6872

Keith Jarrett Quartet/Jan Garbarek/Jon Christensen/Keith Jarrett/Palle Danielsson (Double Bass): Sleeper: Tokyo, April 16th, 1979

Track List

>Personal Mountains
>So Tender
>Chant of the Soil
>New Dance

Album Notes

Personnel: Jan Garbarek (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion); Jon Christensen (drums, percussion); Keith Jarrett (piano, percussion); Palle Danielsson (double bass).

Audio Mixers: Jan Erik Kongshaug; Manfred Eicher.

Recording information: Nakano Sun Plaza, Tokyo (04/16/1979).

Photographer: Terje Mosnes.

The double album Sleeper contains a previously unreleased live concert by Keith Jarrett's European quartet from the '70s, recorded at Tokyo's Nakano Sun Plaza on April 16, 1979. Together with saxophonist Jan Garbarek, bassist Palle Danielsson, and drummer Jon Christensen, Jarrett performs seven of his own compositions: "Personal Mountains," "Innocence," "So Tender," "Oasis," "Chant of the Soil," "Prism," and "New Dance" -- the latter song being the shortest here at seven minutes, while "Oasis" clocks in at over 28 minutes! As a companion piece to the live albums Nude Ants and Personal Mountains (both recorded the same year, even though the latter album was only released in 1989), Sleeper offers another noteworthy document of the creative interplay between these four musicians. ~ Christian Genzel


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product