1 800 222 6872

Luciana Souza: The Book of Chet [Digipak]

Track List

>Thrill Is Gone, The
>He Was Too Good to Me
>I Get Along with You Very Well
>Oh You Crazy Moon
>Touch of Your Lips, The
>Very Thought of You, The
>I Fall in Love Too Easily
>I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance
>You Go to My Head
>[CD-ROM Track]

Album Notes

Personnel: Larry Koonse (guitar); David Piltch (acoustic bass); Jay Bellerose (drums, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Helik Hadar.

Recording information: Henson Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA (04/02/2012-04/04/2012).

Photographers: Bob Wolfenson; Alex Calleros.

Brazilian vocalist Luciana Souza pays tribute to legendary trumpeter/singer Chet Baker on her 2013 album The Book of Chet. The third album Souza has recorded with husband and producer Larry Klein, The Book of Chet also features guitarist Larry Koonse, bassist David Piltch, and drummer Jay Bellerose. Interestingly, while Souza has picked a handful of songs that will certainly will be recognizable to longtime Baker fanatics, these are definitely lesser known standards from Baker's catalog. Subsequently, there is no "My Funny Valentine" or "There Will Never Be Another You," and instead Souza delves into evocative versions of "Forgetful," "He Was Too Good to Me," "The Touch of Your Lips," and others. These are intimate, reflective recordings that capture Baker's laid-back melodicism. ~ Matt Collar


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased