1 800 222 6872

Antony Hopkins: A Portrait - chamber music & songs / Lesley-Jane Rogers, James Gilchrist, Paul Barritt, Matthew Jones

Audio Samples

  1. Viola Sonata: I. March $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Viola Sonata: II. Ground $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Viola Sonata: III. Scherzo $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Viola Sonata: IV. Epilogue $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Piano Sonata No. 2 in F-Sharp minor: III. Rondo $0.99 on iTunes
  6. A Humble Song to the Birds: My darlings, Oh my little birds $0.99 on iTunes
  7. A Humble Song to the Birds: You need not peep $0.99 on iTunes
  8. A Humble Song to the Birds: How dare I then, poor silly man $0.99 on iTunes
  9. A Humble Song to the Birds: Some may be priests or kings or lords $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Partita in G minor: I. Fugato: Andante $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Partita in G minor: II. Vigoroso $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Partita in G minor: III. Moderato, molto rubato $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Partita in G minor: IV. Mesure $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Partita in G minor: V. Allegro giusto $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Piano Sonata No. 3 in C sharp minor: I. Allegro vigoroso $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Piano Sonata No. 3 in C sharp minor: II. Largo $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Piano Sonata No. 3 in C sharp minor: III. Tranquillo: Allegro giusto $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Suite: I. Prelude: Allegretto, quasi pastorale $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Suite: II. Scherzo: Prestissimo $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Suite: III. Canon: Andante tranquillo $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Suite: IV. Jig: Vivace $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Pastiche Suite: I. Allegro molto giusto $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Pastiche Suite: II. Alla siciliano $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Pastiche Suite: III. Vivace non troppo $0.99 on iTunes
  25. 3 French Folksongs (version for soprano, recorder and piano): No. I. Les trois rubans $0.99 on iTunes
  26. 3 French Folksongs (version for soprano, recorder and piano): No. II. Gai lon la $0.99 on iTunes
  27. 3 French Folksongs (version for soprano, recorder and piano): No. III. Quand mon mari se fachera $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Tango $0.99 on iTunes
  29. 3 Seductions: No. I. Wanton Waltz $0.99 on iTunes
  30. 3 Seductions: No. II. Flirtations Fancy $0.99 on iTunes
  31. 3 Seductions: No. III. Sensuous Sarabande $0.99 on iTunes
  32. Early One Morning: First Love $0.99 on iTunes
  33. A Melancholy Song (version for soprano, recorder and piano) $0.99 on iTunes
  34. 4 Dances from Back to Methusalah: No. I. Farandole $0.99 on iTunes
  35. 4 Dances from Back to Methusalah: No. II. Sarabande $0.99 on iTunes
  36. 4 Dances from Back to Methusalah: No. IV. Air $0.99 on iTunes
  37. Good King Jack Nicklaus $0.99 on iTunes
  38. String Quartet $0.99 on iTunes
  39. On How to Sing $0.99 on iTunes
  40. A Little Pastoral $0.99 on iTunes
  41. Evening in April $0.99 on iTunes
  42. Above All That $0.99 on iTunes
  43. CantAHta $0.99 on iTunes
  44. Head Music $0.99 on iTunes
  45. Pierrot $0.99 on iTunes
  46. Johnny the Priest: Vicarage Tea $0.99 on iTunes

Notes & Reviews:

Antony Hopkins is a composer, pianist, conductor, broadcaster, author, lecturer and piano-recitalist - he sometimes calls himself a 'sort of musical odd-job man,' since throughout his professional career he has claimed to be able to produce what has been asked for - often at short notice. His broadcasts, Talking about Music, were spread intermittently over 36 years and were heard worldwide through the BBC Transcription Service. These CDs show some of the wide variety of his music, ranging from mere morsels for recorder to more extensive sonatas and songs. They were entirely conceived and organized by John Turner, the noted recorder-player: it was only fair that his virtuosity should be largely featured. Also included are eight short pieces by other composers, written as tributes to Antony on his 90th birthday in March 2011 - mostly as a response to his influential broadcasts when they were young. Some of the pieces exploit the fact that B natural becomes H in German notation enabling the interval A-H to be used on numerous occasions. The theme from Warlock's Capriol Suite, ("Pieds en l'Air") was included as one of the tunes he declared he most loved.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased