1 800 222 6872

Paul Motian: Monk In Motian

Track List

>Crepuscule With Nellie
>Justice (Evidence)
>Ruby My Dear
>Straight No Chaser
>Ugly Beauty
>Trinkle Tinkle
>Off Minor

Album Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) (2/03, p.100) - "...Among the best modern Thelonious Monk recitals..."

Album Notes

Personnel: Paul Motian (drums); Joe Lovano, Dewey Redman (tenor saxophone);

Geri Allen (piano); Bill Frisell (electric guitar).

Recorded at A&R Studios, New York, New York in March 1988.

All tracks have been digitally remastered.

This is an utterly fascinating tribute to the music of Thelonious Monk. Most of the selections feature the unusual trio of tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano, guitarist Bill Frisell (who with his wide range of original sounds is really a one-band band), and drummer Paul Motian. Tenor saxophonist Dewey Redman and pianist Geri Allen are guests on two songs apiece and fit in quite well with the sparse but very complete trio. Among the ten Monk songs explored, taken apart and given surprising treatment are "Evidence," "Bye-Ya," "Ugly Beauty," and "Trinkle Tinkle." Recommended to open-eared listeners. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product