1 800 222 6872

Haydn: Cello Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

Notes & Reviews:

Richard Wigmore, BBC Music Magazine
Jian Wang, the soloist on this new disc, confirms the promise of his chamber music recordings with playing that is both fiery and eloquent. His tone is rich and alluring, though never over-opulent, his articulation nimble and varied, his phrasing invariably thoughtful. He despatches the devilish bravura writing in the finale of the C major with wit and panache, and brings subtle new shadings and nuances to the recapitulations of the opening movements. If both Adagios are dangerously - and anachronistically - slow and soulful, Wang compels with the intense ruminative inwardness of his playing - listen, for instance, to his rarefied pianissimo at the start of the recapitulation in the C major... Wang's eloquence and sensitivity certainly demand to be heard...


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review