1 800 222 6872

Górecki: Symphony No. 3 'Symphony of Sorrowful Songs' / Joanna Kozlowska

Album Summary

>Gorecki, Henryk M. : Symphony no 3, Op. 36 ("Symphony of Sorrowful Songs")
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Gorecki's Third Symphony, subtitled 'Symphony of Sorrowful Songs", caused a sensation in 1992 when it became a worldwide commercial and critical success, selling more than a million copies. Its "spiritual minimalism" struck a chord and put the Polish composer firmly on the map some 16 years after the work's composition. The words of the central movement are the opening to a prayer scratched on a cell wall by a Polish teenage girl while imprisoned during the Second World War.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Henryk Mikolaj Górecki (Composer) (1933 - 2010) : Symphony no 3, Op. 36 ("Symphony of Sorrowful Songs")
  • Performer: Joanna Kozlowska (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Kazimierz Kord
  • Ensemble: Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 59 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1976