1 800 222 6872

Rev. Dwight Frizzell: Natural Selection

Track List

>Body of the Film
>First Painting
>Rising Surfs of the Body Opening, The
>Building the Earth
>Film Making

Album Notes

Contains 7 tracks.

Personnel: Jim Cottingham (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Betse Ellis (violin); Hafiza Capehart (flute); Thomas Aber (bass clarinet); Patrick Conway (bassoon, percussion); Jan Faidley (saxophone); Leah Hokanson (piano); Bruce Prince-Joseph (organ, carillon); Mark Lowry (percussion).

Audio Mixers: Tony Allard; Rev. Dwight Frizzell.

Liner Note Author: Rev. Dwight Frizzell.

Recording information: KOPN-FM, Columbia, Missouri (1979).

Photographer: Rev. Dwight Frizzell.

Following the reissue of the Beyond the Black Crack LP, Paradigm delivers a second installment of outsider art from this American experimental showman. Collecting the offcuts of his numerous deranged sessions, this Kansas City tape collage artist turned electronic composer has an entirely unique vision, which is presented here as an overview of 25 years of work. A wide range of musical background informs the varied works on this collection, from Sun Ra-inspired space jazz to multi-channel electronic composition and experimental ensemble performance. It would seem that the Rev. Dwight Frizzell indulged in thousands of musical activities since the '70s, and this is just a small window into a bizarre sonic world. Comparisons are worthless, when as soon as his music resembles something slightly tangible it diverts back off into an unknown universe, and is all the better for it. ~ Skip Jansen


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product