1 800 222 6872

RCA Living Stereo Collection Vol. 1 [60 CDs]

Notes & Reviews:


1 Living Stereo Sampler CD
2 Munch, Charles/Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3; Debussy: La Mer; Ibert: Escales
3 Munch, Charles/Ravel: Daphnis Et Chloe
4 Reiner, Fritz/ Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra; Ein Heldenleben
5 Reiner, Fritz/Bartok: Concerto For Orchestra; Music For Strings, Percussion & Celesta; Hungarian Sketches
6 Heifetz, Jascha /Beethoven: Violin Concerto; Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto
7 Cliburn, Van /Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1; Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2
8 Fiedler, Arthur/Gershwin: Rhapsody In Blue; Concerto In F; An American In Paris; Variations...
9 Reiner, Fritz /Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition
10 Price, Leontyne/Leontyne Price: Various Opera Arias
11 Rubinstein, Arthur Chopin: Ballades & Scherzos
12 Monteux, Pierre/Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 Pathtique
13 Gould, Morton/Brass & Percussion
14 Heifetz, Jascha/Sibelius, Prokofiev, Glazunov: Violin Concertos
15 Munch, Charles/Berlioz: Requiem 2CD
17 Munch, Charles/Ravel: Bolro; La Valse; Rapsodie Espagnole; Debussy: Images For Orchestra
18 Piatigorsky, Gregor/Dvorak; Walton: Cello Concertos
19 Reiner, Fritz/ Dvorak: New World Symphony
20 Reiner, Fritz/Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade
21 Rubinstein, Arthur /Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1
22 Fiedler, Arthur/ Offenbach: Gate Parisienne
23 Cliburn, Van/Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3; Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3
24 Fiedler, Arthur/Hi-Fi Fiedler
25 Heifetz, Jascha/Brahms; Tchaikovsky: Violin Concertos
26 Monteux, Pierre/Franck:Symphony In D Minor;Stravinsky: Petrouchka
27 Munch, Charles/Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 6
28 Munch, Charles/Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique; Love Scene From Romeo & Juliet
29 Reiner, Fritz/Strauss: Scenes From Elektra & Salome
30 Reiner, Fritz/ Mahler: Symphony No. 4
31 Rubinstein, Arthur Chopin: Piano Concertos
32 Stokowski, Leopold/ Rhapsodies
33 Gould, Morton/Copland: Billy The Kid & Rodeo; Grofe: Grand Canyon Suite
34 Moffo, Anna/Arias From Faust; La Bohme; Dinorah; Carmen; Turandot; Semiramide; Lakme
35 Reiner, Fritz/ Respighi: Pines Of Rome; Fountains Of Rome & Debussy: La Mer
36 Reiner, Fritz/Music of Vienna
37 Munch, Charles/Mendelssohn: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5; Octet: Scherzo
38 Fiedler, Arthur/Pops Caviar
39 Rubinstein, Arthur/Beethoven: Sonatas (Moonlight; Les Adieux; Pathetique; Appassionata)
40 Heifetz, Jascha/Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1; Scottish Fantasy & Vieuxtemps: Violin Concerto No. 5
41 Lanza, Mario Mario! Lanza At His Best; Vagabond King Highlights
42 Fox, Virgil/ Encores
43 Leinsdorf, Erich/Puccini: La Bohme 2CD
45 Leinsdorf, Erich/Puccini: Madama Butterfly
47 Moffo, Anna/Verdi: La Traviata 2CD
49 Bjorling, Jussi/Puccini: Turandot 2C
51 Munch, Charles/Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 9 "The Great" & No. 8 "Unfinished"
52 Reiner, Fritz/ Strauss: Don Quixote & Don Juan
53 Heifetz, Jascha /Bach: Concerto For Two Violins In D Minor
54 Bream, Julian/Popular Classics For Spanish Guitar
55 Price, Leontyne/Albeniz: Navarra, Iberia; Falla: El Amor Brujo
56 Rubinstein, Arthur/Saint-Saens: Piano Concerto No. 2; Franck: Symphonic Variations
57 Munch, Charles/Berlioz: Harold In Italy; The Roman Carnival Overture; Benvenuto Cellini Overture
58 Reiner, Fritz/Mahler: Das Lied Von Der Erde
59 Reiner, Fritz/Strauss: Symphonia Domestica; Suite From Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme
60 Cliburn, Van/Schumann: Piano Concerto In A Minor; Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, Op. 73 "Emperor"

In the 1950's, RCA Victor made a substantial body of recordings which have come to be identified with their first stereo label, Living Stereo. At the beginning of the widespread adoption of stereo audio in the home, Living Stereo offered a wide range of music, performances and audio quality that are still considered to be THE definitive recordings today. The first commercial stereophonic recording was made by RCA in 1954 of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Charles Munch, performing The Damnation of Faust. This began the practice of simultaneously recording orchestras with both stereophonic and monaural equipment. Living Stereo influenced many classical recordings made since and represents an important part of audiophile history.

Customer Review
I have a huge collection of music- thousands of classical CDs and thousands of LPs. You'd think that a box set of core repertoire would be redundant for a collection like mine. But it isn't. This box isn't just a sampler of classical music, it's a retrospective of the work of Reiner and Munch, two of the greatest conductors who ever lived. The performances here are porterhouse steak at hamburger prices.

But if you are one of the lucky people who have an interest in classical music but never knew where to start, this set is an even better bargain. This box cuts a huge swath right through the middle of the core repertoire. You know those lists you read online, "Recommended Basic Classical Music Collection"? Well, the contents of this set could function as that with no overlapping and very little chafe.

Symphonies, operas, programmatic music, solo recitals, it's all here in spectacular sound and definitive performances. Buy this box and spend the next year absorbing it all and you will gain a tremendous introduction to the world of classical music. This box could be priced four or five times higher and it would still be worth it. If you are new to classical music, don't hesitate. This is the one.

Customer Review
Very happy with this set. Contains mostly the standard classical repertoire. The sound quality is excellent for the age of the recordings. Unlike the Mercury Living Presence box set, the included documentation is excellent and includes the material found in the booklets from the single CD releases (I have many of those and verified by checking). The discs are not SACD (not advertised as such on my purchase page so no issue of deception). My box says Made in the EU on the bottom. I have had no problem with the quality of the discs or getting them to play or rip to my iTunes Library. A Great bargain, especially if you are new to classical music and want to build your library quickly with quality performances and recordings.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased